A New Beginning For Me

Braving the blazing sun I somehow managed to reach the  Zarah office, where it was my first day of work. The office reminded me of the garage of Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak from the movie, ‘Pirates of Silicone Valley’. Set up in an old basement, the office proudly housed books on art, architecture and design, and a rusted miniature of the Eiffel Tower. I met Archie while he was anxiously typing a letter on his laptop and Barnita was making frantic calls to the sponsors. I felt proud because I was on time and had a lively interaction with the founders. But my pattern of punctuality was soon disrupted upon knowing that the director sahiba was going to be an hour late. So, I took some time out and decided to roam around. CR Park is quite an interesting place actually and has a lot to offer, apart from the overpowering Bangla brotherhood. I was mesmerized by the ruins of Chandralok cinema hall and my mind leaped back to the 90s, thinking how it would have been back then, full of life and people. The Kali Mandir and street food were a different experience altogether.

Coming back to the office, I was greeted by a big smile. Shivangi was finally here. As we sat down to discuss work, she told me about the theme of this year’s exhibition- ‘Bimb Pratibimb: Reflections of the Self and Society’. The theme explores the disturbing dichotomy between the individual self and the collective society. With the motif of mirrors, this year’s exhibition seeks to unite the two extremes as much as it attempts to separate them. The desires and ideas of the self constitute the society, and the self is in turn shaped by the societal forces and social regulators. I feel that the theme is relevant to the current times when we are faced with socio-political struggles worldwide, modern-day revolutions being born in Delhi and Turkey, conflicting identities that are imposed on the people with alternative sexuality and the schizophrenic duality of the linguistic, religious or regional minority groups. How does an individual respond to the Other when the Self is unknown, unexplored? I was wondering how the answers can be sought to these uncomfortable questions. Does the individual self have the capacity to change the society? Can Gandhian idealism work in a degenerated social apparatus? How does the ordinary struggle of a poor man turn into a powerful revolution? As I was spiraling down in my train of thoughts, I noticed the trio discussing about the potential venues for the exhibition. I was surprised to notice their commitment and dedication to each and every task, down to its minimum detail. I felt glad that I was a part of such a promising organisation whose focus is not only on art but also on the social issues around them. Having the most substantial of reasons, I am pretty sure that we will organize a grander show this year.

With a warm feeling in my heart, I soon reached back home, exhausted and low on energy. But it feels beautiful to be a part of something which is honest in its work and sincere in its efforts.

So, here I am-a part of Zarah, writing and researching for the organisation. You will be seeing me here more often and I am proud that I am walking on the road less taken.

By – The Nish 800px-Crpark5

Leave a comment

Filed under Zarah

Leave a comment